Education, Education, Education?

Congratulations to everyone! Those who got into university, first choice OR through clearing. Congratulations to the GCSE students, those who passed with flying colours and those who might still be feeling glum for not doing so well. But listen here, I’m here to tell you that whatever you achieved, whatever you came out with and wherever you’re going to – congratulations. Because school is tough!

It’s so tough too, because we have to make such big grown up decisions, even when we don’t feel ready, with barely any room to change our minds. I know – I’ve been there!

I remember collecting my GCSE results after opting to stay on at my school (terrible decision!) because I didn’t think I would have good enough grades to go anywhere else. The day I collected those results, I realised I didn’t have enough hope in myself, because I’d done better than I thought I would! Sure, I struggled more than a few. I was never automatically clever. Like those people who never revise and manage to just have it in them. I have to work hard! But despite that, I’d made a poor decision with my A-Levels and didn’t give much thought to other collages, considering I had no self-confidence to think I could go anywhere else! Then I took my A-Levels, and failed my first year (almost) which wasn’t a nice feeling. Especially when my dream course at my dream uni used those grades to turn me down an offer 😦 But! the other options were still there! Then eventually I got grades another course at that same university was happy with, and here I am! Studying English with Serbian/Croatian Studies and loving it. But I’ve managed to go from dreaming of being a games designer, to wanting to take graphic design at university, to wanting to be an English teacher and doing something I didn’t even know was a course that existed! To now, having not a single clue about what I want to do!

Life doesn’t always go to plan. But that doesn’t mean you should beat yourself up about it when it doesn’t. Education is difficult, and sometimes, as I like to say, things happen for a reason. Maybe that fail in maths dragged you down a path into doing something amazing that you never thought you would do. Maybe leaving school at 16 means you get a job, and through that job come out with a BSc in 5 years.

If you didn’t get your choice, or if things haven’t quite worked out the way you wanted to, don’t fret. Sometimes these things need to happen. Look at me, I have qualifications and have no idea what to do with them! Being qualified doesn’t mean you’re any better or worse off than anyone who isn’t. I want you to know that whatever happened on those results days do not define your future. Sure, it’s important, in some cases. But as I said. Things happen for a reason, mix that in with some life is what you make it and you have a fresh brew of: You!

The future is exciting. No matter what happened on those days, no matter what the papers say. I’m proud of you, and you should be proud of you for being you, and doing your best. The future isn’t written yet, anything could happen – so write it as you go along! 🙂

I hope this made some form of sense! See, I’m studying English and yet my biggest struggle is explaining things sometimes. The jist is, don’t let it burn you out or get you to feel miserable, when those results don’t define what your future contains. You’re brilliant! Good luck to you all on your next few chapters in life. I hope they are exciting. What’s life without a mix of ups and downs eh? A blank piece of paper!

Stay smiling,

Screenshot 2015-05-14 19.32.14

Leave a Reply

