Love Yourself; Training Yourself Into Body Confidence

I don’t even have to look at my body to tell you all of the things I don’t like about it. Because I’ve told myself about the things I don’t like about it so many times. I’ve had self confidence issues for as far as I can remember, all the way from tap dance class when I was about 7 and I felt embarrassed to be seen in a leotard, because I was fatter than all the other girls.

  1. I don’t like my nose, it’s crooked and large.
  2. I don’t like my toes, they’re so big they blister.
  3. I don’t like my tum, it’s flabby and jiggles.
  4. I don’t like my bum, it’s not rounded or toned.
  5. I don’t like my boobs, they’re too far apart.
  6. I don’t like my skin, it’s sugar skin that’s grey and sags, full of spots and wrinkles already.
  7. I don’t like my cheeks, I’m always chubby.
  8. I don’t like my hair, I dyed it too much and now it’s ruined.
  9. I don’t like my lips, I wish they were fuller.
  10. I don’t like my body hair, its everywhere and is a constant daily task to get it away.
  11. I don’t like my thighs, they’re too blubbery.
  12. I don’t like my eyes, they’re too small.
  13. I don’t like my eyebrows, I have crows feet and the hairs grow upwards.
  14. I don’t like my fingers, they’re too short and stubby.
  15. I don’t like my size, I wish I was a bit taller.
  16. I don’t like my body shape, I find it really difficult to buy jeans.
  17. I don’t like my smile, I can’t smile with my teeth.

But everyone has insecurities. That’s just looking at my body. I have personality insecurities, things I do I wish I didn’t, and I’m also pretty sure I’m not alone. This isn’t just a teenage thing, insecurities pass throughout life and they’re always there. There are parts of your body that can change (I don’t agree with surgery, I think it should only be used for super serious cases but if you’re stupidly unhappy about something to the point where it ruins your everyday, that’s your choice if it’ll make you happier!). You can wear make-up to feel happier. Go to the gym to tone up. But ultimately, you’re only as beautiful as you let yourself be. Everyone is different, everyone has insecurities. Learn to love them. Learn to love yourself. Wouldn’t it be nice, if we all just told ourselves the things we love about ourselves as often as we tell ourselves the things we hate?

  1. I like my nose, I can flare my nostrils and the rest of my family have it the same shape.
  2. I like my toes, they serve me well and are so short and stubby they never get stubbed.
  3. I like my tum, I have a great belly button, it all just needs a bit of toning.
  4. I like my bum, It’s a big wide bum that would look great if I exercised more.
  5. I like my boobs, they look great in or out of a bra, no matter if I don’t have wonderbra cleavage 24/7.
  6. I like my skin, it’s real skin that gives me issues so I can learn to look after it.
  7. I like my cheeks, I have cute little dimples all of the time!
  8. I like my hair, I just need to look after it, but it grows quickly!
  9. I like my lips, they’re never dry or crackly.
  10. I like my body hair, it gives me an excuse to buy lush things and have a long hot bath to shave it all off. Plus I could grow a tash greater than any man has witnessed if I felt like it.
  11. I like my thighs, they’re great for balancing cups and bowls. It’s an art.
  12. I like my eyes, my Mum has always told me they look like malteasers.
  13. I like my eyebrows, they’re like Keira Knightly’s.
  14. I like my fingers, I have my Mum’s fingernails, they type well and quickly, plus I always have an excuse to compare hand sizes and have a Disney Tarzan moment more often than most people!
  15. I like my size, it means I can fit into small spaces easily during hide and seek games, and my arms fit into pringles tubes so I can always reach the blighters stuck at the bottom. Talk about survival of the fittest.
  16. I like my body shape, I’m a pear, according to Gok. Who needs jeans when leggings exist that flaunt my curves!
  17. I like my smile, because it’s my smile, and as long as it shows people I’m happy it does a wonderful job.

Make a list of all the things you don’t like about yourself, and then change the sentences to why you do like those things like I have done so above. Have a think, and be positive. Learn to love your insecurities and your imperfections – they are what make you, you! and you’re only human. Being more confident, doesn’t mean being in a different body, or having other people tell you what is good and bad about you. Those opinions and people will come and go, and everyone will think something different. The only constant is you. You always had every reason to feel happy and confident in your own skin. It’s what you make of it that determines whether you do or not. I’m telling you today, give yourselves more credit. Love yourself. – Sings ‘I Feel Pretty’ from West Side Story into the distance –

Whim xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

